Wednesday, 21 March 2012

Jimmy Bubnick up for WHL Award

Calgary Hitmen forward Jimmy Bubnick is the WHL's Eastern Conference nominee for Scholastic Player of the Year.  The winner captures the Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy.

This caption is from Hitmen Education Advisor Bernie Bajnok:

"Jimmy, as a 20-year-old member of the Calgary Hitmen Hockey Club, made academics as well as hockey a focus during this season.  He was a definite influence on his teammates concerning the importance of education as seven other members of the team joined him at St. Mary’s University College in the fall semester.  To be successful with on line learning requires good self discipline.  Jimmy demonstrated diligence and perseverance both at home and on the road in order to complete two online math courses by the end of February with an honours standing."

Here is a summary about the award, including previous winners, as outlined in the WHL Media Guide.

The late Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman was a pioneer in promoting higher education and hockey. For many years Doc Seaman was a staunch supporter of the efforts of Hockey Canada and the Western Hockey League to ensure all players combine education with hockey. As well, he was a great promoter of the City of Calgary, as evidenced by his efforts to bring the Atlanta Flames to Calgary to become the beloved Calgary Flames of the NHL.  Due to Seaman’s support for programs that promote the combination of education and hockey, and the Western Hockey League’s education program in particular, the WHL named the Scholastic Player of the Year Award in honour of Doc Seaman in 1996.

Past winners:
2010-11 Colin Smith, Kamloops
2009-10 Adam Lowry, Swift Current
2008-09 Stefan Elliott, Saskatoon •
2007-08 Jordan Eberle, Regina
2006-07 Keith Aulie, Brandon
2005-06 Brennan Wray, Moose Jaw
2004-05 Gilbert Brule, Vancouver•
2003-04 Devan Dubnyk, Kamloops •
2002-03 Brett Dickie, Brandon
2001-02 Tyler Metcalfe, Seattle
2000-01 Dan Hulak, Portland •
1999-00 Chris Nielsen, Calgary
1998-99 Chris Nielsen, Calgary

1997-98 Kyle Rossiter, Spokane •
1996-97 Stefan Cherneski, Brandon •
1995-96 Bryce Salvador, Lethbridge
1994-95 Perry Johnson, Regina •
1993-94 Byron Penstock, Brandon
1992-93 David Trofimenkoff, Leth. •
1991-92 Ashley Buckberger, S.C.
1990-91 Scott Niedermayer, Kaml. •
1989-90 Jeff Nelson, Prince Albert •
1988-89 Jeff Nelson, Prince Albert •
1987-88 Kevin Cheveldayoff, Brandon
1986-87 Casey McMillan, Lethbridge
1985-86 Mark Janssens, Regina Pats
1984-85 Mark Janssens, Regina Pats
1983-84 Ken Baumgartner, P.A.
scholastic player of the year
Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Trophy
• Also selected as the CHL Scholastic Player of the Year, an award first instituted at the CHL level in the 1988-89 Season

No comments:

Post a Comment